Sunday, October 16, 2011

Starship featuring Mickey Thomas

Members: Mickey Thomas, Craig Chanquico, Mark Morgan, and Brett Bloomfield
Genre: Rock Band
After long-time band leader Paul Kantner left Jefferson Starship in 1984, the band dropped the first word in its name. At that point it consisted of singers Mickey Thomas and Grace Slick (b.Oct 30, 1939), guitarist Craig Chaquico (b.1955), bassist Pete Sears, and drummer Donny Baldwin. This unit immediately scored with the #1 hits "We Built This City" and "Sara" and the million-selling album Knee Deep in the Hoopla. Sears had left by the time of the 1987 follow-up, No Protection, which featured the #1 "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" and the Top Ten "It's Not Over ('Til It's Over)." Slick then departed, and the remaining trio recruited keyboard player Mark Moragan and bassist Brett Bloomfield for the 1989 album Love among the Cannibals, which featured the Top 20 hit "It's Not Enough." In 1991, when RCA released a Starship greatest-hits album, the one new track on the album had been recorded by Thomas and studio musicians, leading to doubt that Starship remained a functioning band.
<<< Back To Cycle Promotions USA